Mental health sufferers need more than empty promises

Despite active discussion on mental health and politicians pledging to make it a priority, little appears to have changed. Around 75 per cent of those suffering from mental health issues will not receive help or treatment, due to a fear of coming forward and a lack of resources for them to access. Less than one per cent of each local authority’s public health budget is spent on mental health on average, and in 2016 13 local authorities spent nothing at all, despite the public health act of 2013.

http://www.studentnewspaper.org/mental-health-sufferers-need-more-than-empty-promises/

One thought on “Mental health sufferers need more than empty promises

  1. So true. As long as society en mass thinks depression is a ‘choice’ it will never be given the resources it badly needs. = made me think of how often depressed people are ‘condemned’ for being depressed like it’s a choice. It’s my opinion few if any would ever choose such a perspective but I also don’t believe depression is something you can ‘cure’ easily if at all when it’s not due to a situation (bereavement etc) because it’s like saying ‘let’s change how we view the world entirely’ which yes, maybe some can do but most of us are who we are, and as such if you see the sadness in the world and it is that coupled with not seeing distractions like football as appeasing that intrinsic sadness, then you’re going to for the most part, view the world and life as ‘suffering’ with respites of joy/happiness. That’s how I view the world it’s not because I do not acknowledge others are happy maybe even most of the time, nor that I don’t wish I had that perspective, but since I was a kid I opened my eyes and I saw the world and this is what I saw. I’m not sure that is cultural, genetic, learned or can be un-learned through behavioral or cognitive ‘therapy’ I think it’s the mortar of our soul, some have different souls, some seem to be able to live on the ‘froth of the daydream’ whilst others can ‘make the best of it’ and others ‘endure’ and others are sorrow laiden. I would say, it helps nobody who is ever depressed whether short or long term, to be condemned for it, so I always welcome different perspectives that don’t being with ‘if you just wanted to be happy you could make it so’

    Like

Leave a Reply

